When in Buffalo last week, I purchased a pack of Zucol Coldcare that was normally $8.99 but was tagged $5.99 on the shelf.  So I thought.  When I was charged $8.99 at the register, I found that the $5.99 amount was a rebate I was supposedly entitled to.  I was handed a circular with rebate submission instructions and sent on my way.  When I used Rite Aid’s website to attempt to obtain my rebate, I was told that I didn’t purchase the Zucol during the promotion dates, October 12 through 18th.  I purchased it on the 3rd, a week and a half before the promotion was to start.  Two emails to Rite Aid later and I’m told that I’ll need to speak to them directly via the phone to complain further.  (Email isn’t direct enough?)

Screw it.  I’m not a regular Rite Aid customer anyways.  They could have just settled the matter in principle by offering me the $3 I thought I was saving in the first place, but they didn’t.  This program seems to me to be a way for them to trick people (which, being a drug store, probably includes a disproportionate number of older people) into buying stuff they might otherwise not have chosen if it wasn’t perceived to be on sale.  I don’t know if CVS does this too, but I’ll be a lot more careful about reading deceptive shelf labeling.  Don’t shop at Rite Aid if you have an alternative.  It’s a shame that a Central-PA-based company is preying on their customers in this fashion.