I just read an article in the Patriot-News about the new Wegmans grocery store on the Carlisle Pike that will be opening in a week. We’ve been by there, when test-driving our Outlook that we ended up buying from the Saturn dealership near there. Having lived in Western New York for the better part of 14 years, I’m quite familiar with the chain and when I struck out on my own, they were my preferred grocer.

While I don’t think we’ll be making the trek out to the new store for weekly shopping, we’ll probably go out to visit once the inevitable initial business surge is done. Giant and Weis could both learn a lot from Wegmans. Giant should widen their aisles, most immediately by abolishing the stupid displays that sit in front of the shelves and make an aisle less than two carts wide.  Weis could greatly improve its produce and deli departments.  In the end, we currently go to a Weis store because it’s usually not too busy and it meets a standard of quality we can deal with.  We have a Giant store that’s closer to us but is quite busy and is not laid out in a way that makes navigation pleasing or easy.

I hope Wegmans on the Carlisle Pike does well, because I’d certainly like to see more of them around here.