Had a whirlwind weekend between helping with Zachary, Ryan’s soccer game and birthday party, tinkering with “the beast” (now named “FarCry”), hanging with my parents, and going to the Middletown Fair as well as some “normal” weekend stuff.

Ryan’s soccer game Saturday morning was great.  They’ve got a core of 6 kids on the team that are playing together well; the last two weeks, they’ve really started playing like a team.  They have one more game this coming Saturday.  Can’t wait to see how they do in the Under-8 division next year, and I hope they get to continue to play together.

Mom and Dad came late Saturday morning to visit and watch Zachary as we took Ryan over to Fountainblu for his early birthday party.  I’d never been to this rink before and was impressed by its organization, cleanliness, and size.  I hadn’t been on my blades yet this year, and hadn’t skated indoors since leaving Buffalo.  I was in hog heaven.  I had fun whipping around the rink, and helping the little guys get the hang of their skates.  Being six and seven, they haven’t skated much yet.  Ryan really impressed me.  He went down a lot, but everytime I thought “he’s done” he was back out on the floor a few minutes later.  I think we’ll be back at Fountainblu, even if it’s just Ryan and myself.  Melissa did get out on her skates as well near the end, but she was great as the greeter and overall party runner.

I was pretty tired after the party; the skating was my first significant exercise in a while.  But it was all good; I made dinner and we had a restful evening talking with my parents and playing with Zachary.

Speaking of Zach, at a month old he’s really liking laying in front of the activity gym and observing the lights and songs for 15-20 minutes at a time.  I’ll have to get a pic of that soon.

I did find some pockets of time to get Win XP x64 installed on FarCry and get the drivers loaded.  The only “gotcha” was that I had to go out and grab Realtek’s drivers for the onboard audio.  MSI’s provided drivers (had to go online; the x64 OS wasn’t supported with the included CD media) weren’t installing.  Everything else loaded up great, and once I get the Audigy 4 and FireWire card from Earthshine inserted I should be able to finalize the hardware build and then install Ubuntu 7.04 x64.  Don’t know how often that’ll get used upstairs, but I have plenty of hard drive space to use to play with it.  I’ve also successfully tested its dual-boot-ability with Win XP and was impressed.

On Sunday my Dad wanted us to go for a bike ride but I woke up with a headache and was still feeling the skate a bit, so I declined.  Early in the afternoon we headed down to Hoffer Park in Middletown for our first Middletown Fair.  It was nice to go a craft show that we weren’t participating in as Manolas.   It wasn’t as crowded as I expected and the food was OK.  I noticed that the crowd skewed pretty old; I guess that reflects the average age of the borough’s population.  We don’t get down there much except to go to Alfred’s.