I’ve purchased the iTunes Plus version of The Smashing Pumpkins’ Siamese Dream (an album I dig but never got around to purchasing) to show my support for the initiative launched today. I’ve never purchased anything from iTunes before. It was a pretty painless experience.

Of course, the first thing I did with the music files was to copy them off into my Foobar2000 library, calculate ReplayGain (ahh… the good old early ’90s: -4.94dB), and listen to them there. They worked!

At $7.99 for the album, I think the purchase was a great compromise versus buying the CD new. I don’t think I’d buy anything but iTunes Plus albums, though. They’re a much better deal than individual tracks. And I’m a lover of albums vs. singles, although I love to shuffle tracks around.

I’ll comment on audio quality (both native and transcoded) later.