Star Wars is one of the first movies I think I can recall seeing in a movie theater.  I think I first saw it sometime in early 1978, when I was 7, but I can’t be sure.  I have a much clearer memory of seeing epidodes V and VI in theaters, after seeing episode IV.   In any case, I was a Star Wars nut as a kid and collected a lot of the toys, only to sell the lot of them to an adult collector when I was 11 or 12.  They got a lot of use.

I’ve enjoyed the original trilogy as it’s aged, and still prefer it to the prequel trilogy.  R2D2 is my favorite character; a mini R2 sits under my monitor at work and keeps me company throughout the day. 🙂  The Empire Strikes Back is probably still my favorite Star Wars movie, but obviously it wouldn’t have come to be without the excellence and success of the original.  Long live Star Wars!