Thanks to Oddsock for updating his excellent streaming DSP Oddcast to support foobar2000 0.9.x. I certainly wasn’t one of the ones bugging him about it, but now that it’s here I’m playing with it. This was a great time to do so, as FB2K 0.9.4 came out recently. And I’ve been thinking about changing around the ICYG back-end.

I’ve got a decent FB2K/Continuator/Oddcast chain going, with 44.1kHz Stereo Ogg Vorbis streams of Q0 and Q8 (in-home only) and a 32kHz Stereo 64kbps CBR MP3 stream. I’ve confirmed that FB2K 0.9.4 now supports FLAC streams; however, in my limited testing so far I’ve found that Icecast develops CPU usage problems when dealing out a FLAC stream. I’m eager to see if I can serve one out within the house stably, but for listening purposes the Q8 Vorbis stream is just fine.

I’ve got an instance of Winamp and Eric Milles’ Remote Speakers Output plugin that I’ve got going 24/7 listening to that Q8 stream and pumping it to the Airport Express attached to our stereo. Hi-def ICYG in the living room is a nice thing to have! And Ryan likes it when he hears the station IDs he recorded over 2 years ago come on…