On Saturday, we went out for the first time to Little Buffalo State Park to have a picnic lunch and swim at the pool we’d heard good things about. The pool was great for kids. There is a large spray area, zero-depth entry, and it never gets deeper than 5 feet. There are two waterslides in the deep end. The water was a little chilly for the time we were there, but once we got used to it, it was fine. About 10 minutes after we got out and changed, it started sprinkling. Our time there ended with a bit of time in the nearby playground. We’re definitely going to be visiting that park more next summer.

On Sunday I rode 50km with my mom in Lancaster Bike Club’s Covered Bridge ride. I hadn’t been riding enough to attempt the full 100km, but my dad and his friend Jack did that ride. It was fun to ride with my mom; something we hadn’t done together in years. The more relaxed pace was well-suited for all the gorgeous scenery we got to soak in: farms, fields, and, of course, bridges! Being in Lancaster county with a few thousand cyclists, friends of Floyd Landis were there showing their support. Yellow Floyd “TDF Champ” t-shirts were available for a donation to Floyd’s favorite charity (which I didn’t get the name of). It was a well-organized ride, but after Bike Virginia and the Tour de Cure I wasn’t expecting water-only rest stops. Good thing I brought some goodies with me. 😉