Scott and I have been discussing the start of the upcoming Brutal Deluxe Football League podcast season and improvements we can make. I’m going to try to clean up the audio even more this season by making the recording less complicated. We’ll probably still use Skype, but probably only with the two of us, to try to keep levels in check. I’m going to do a little bit more in post-production as well. I dislike spoken-word podcasts where different speakers are at different levels, and I’m going to do my best to make sure my podcasts aren’t among them.

I’ll also avoid publishing the BDFL podcasts through more feeds than just the official BDFL website feeds. I don’t want us to waste bandwidth by publishing the same podcasts on my feeds. I will still post pointers to the episodes and encourage anyone interested in listening to subscribe to the BDFL website.

I’m also thinking about doing a little bit of underwriting this year, so that we can get a little bit back for the time that we spend producing the content. I estimate we will probably produce about 26 episodes at 40-60 minutes a piece. We’re thinking about making the show more formatted as well. Any suggestions in these areas?