I’ve played with Rogue Amoeba‘s Airfoil For Windows Beta on and off over the last few days and it’s just not reliable enough for me to consider purchasing a license for at this time. I’ve been able to get it to redirect my laptop’s WaveOut to the Airport Express, but moderate CPU/disk activity (such as firing up a browser to post this) causes stuttering and gaps in the playback that are definitely not caused by the source application or limitations in network bandwidth. Even in the absense of other active applications, the audio occasionally skips. iTunes streaming to the AE is rock solid on this system in all but the most stressful situations. Something about Airfoil’s hijacking technology isn’t fully baked, at least on this config (a Compaq Evo N610C 2.0GHz P4 running WinXP SP2 with a Wireless-G connection to the AE).

I’ve also found Eric Milles’ Remote Speakers plugin for Winamp to be highly stable, even though it’s certainly not as flexible as Airfoil. But I don’t want any arbitrary audio output to go to the AE, just the output from my media player of choice. Now if we can just get Eric or someone else to port his work to Foobar 2000…