Recently I’ve been pressed for time on the mornings where I take Ryan to the bus stop. It came to a head yesterday when I neglected to send him in with a snack for his classmates, due to the fact that I was trying to get too much stuff done before we had to leave. Melissa even called to remind me and I forgot.

She rightly pointed out that I procrastinate with regards to some of the morning duties. It really woke me up to the fact that I’m doing that a lot. Since last night, whenever I’ve thought “I’m here and could get this done or prepared, but I’ll wait until later”, I’ve gone ahead and taken the time to get whatever it is done then. For example, I washed dishes that had been dirtied after dinner before going up last night, when before I might have left them for the next day. Something as silly as putting out the bread and knife before finding out if Ryan wants creamy or crunchy peanut butter does save time. Being a computer guy, I attribute this to lessening context switching.

I’m happy to say I got up earlier this morning (something else I needed to be able to correct this) and have time to make this entry before heading off to the bus stop. Thanks Melissa; I love you.