I’m either considering the blog equivalent of cross-dressing or overthinking this change I’ve got in mind.

This fall will see my 3-year free hosting offer with 1&1 Internet lapse. While I could renew with them and get a pretty decent package, the minimal ads and associate links I run combined with my modest readership wouldn’t pay the bill. Since we’re already buying hosting for Manolas at InMotion, who Melissa selected and has grown to like, it makes a lot of sense for me to piggyback alexharden.org there.

Herein lies the rub: while I’ve never done anything with my root URL other than redirect it to my blog’s URL, adding alexharden.org as a parked domain to manolashandmadesoaps.com just seems like a slacker solution. The good thing is that I’m not bothered by the site move itself, I’m just fretting over this detail. All my URLs will continue to work, it’s just this root URL issue that’s bugging me. What do you guys think about this?

I guess I should just view this as an opportunity to get free advertising… 😉 I should add that I’ve verified that I could add alexharden.org as a fully separate root domain to our InMotion plan for an additional $4/month. But I’m cheap.