Bills will release QB Bledsoe; Losman to step up

Granting Bledsoe’s request to be cut, the Bills announced Wednesday they will waive the 12-year veteran Feb. 22, the first day NFL teams are allowed to officially release players. The decision came after the Bills informed him last week of their plans to give the starting job to J.P. Losman, Buffalo’s second of two first-round draft choices last year.

“I completely disagree and can’t understand their point of view,” Bledsoe said during a conference call from his home in Oregon. “Do I think this is fair? No, I don’t think it’s fair. But I’m also aware that that’s how it works, and I understand that.”

[..]

He will be one of several veteran quarterbacks on the market: Cleveland is releasing Jeff Garcia and Kurt Warner is leaving the New York Giants.

Bledsoe said Dallas would be a possible spot for him. Cowboys coach Bill Parcells chose him for New England with the first overall pick in the 1993 draft. The Bills have given him permission to negotiate with other teams.

I guess we knew a change was coming; Drew obviously thinks there are enough vacant starting QB spots in the league that he could fill. I wish him good luck and thank him for helping the Bills get back to at least .500 territory.